Macedonia to get new government next week


Macedonia is expected to get a new government by end of the week. Parliament Speaker Talat Xhaferi has scheduled the 10th session for Saturday (Aug. 29) at which the new government led by PM-designate Zoran Zaev is to be elected. The 11th Macedonian government should be elected by Sunday (Aug. 30) midnight at the latest.

Prime Minister-designate and SDSM leader Zoran Zaev submitted on Wednesday the proposal for election of new government, as well as its program, to Parliament.

Economic transformation for rapid growth, higher standard, investment in public health sector, reduction of the poverty rate below 16 percent focusing on child poverty, Implementation of community policing, are some of the priorities included in 2020-2024 government program.

Besides Zaev as Prime Minister, list of nominees for the government includes Ljupco Nikolovski as Deputy Prime Minister in charge of Fight against Corruption, Fatmir Bitikji – Deputy Prime Minister for Economic Affairs, Nikola Dimitrov – Deputy Prime Minister for European Affairs, Oliver Spasovski – Minister of Interior, Radmila Shekerinska – Minister of Defence, Bojan Marichikj – Minister of Justice, Blagoj Bochvarski – Minister of Transport and Communications, Venko Filipche – Minister of Health, Mila Carovska – Minister of Education and Science, Jagoda Shahpaska – Minister of Labour and Social Policy and Irena Stefoska – Minister of Culture.

Arijanit Hoxha from Besa will head up the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Water Economy, and Goran Milevski from the LDP will be the Minister of Local Self-Government.

DUI’s candidates include Artan Grubi as First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Political System, Bujar Osmani – Minister of Foreign Affairs, Fatmir Besimi – Minister of Finance, Kreshnik Bekteshi – Minister of Economy, Naser Nuredini – Minister of Environment and Jeton Shaqiri – Minister of Information Society and Administration.

In accordance with the Constitution, the government is approved with majority of votes in the 120-seat parliament.

The new parliamentary majority is made up of 62 MPs – 46 from SDSM and the “We Can” coalition, 15 from DUI and one from DPA.

Previous articleHealth Inspectorate closes for COVID-19 testing point in Strumica, after VMRO-DPMNE’s reaction
Next articleMinistry of Interior to store servers and data in a building in Prilep in the form of a circular ring and a central core of a server room


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here