Borrell: Macedonia and nine other countries align with EU restrictive measures against ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaeda


The EU candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania, Ukraine, Moldova, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, the EFTA countries Iceland and Liechtenstein, members of the European Economic Area along with Armenia, align themselves with the EU Council Decision of March 25, 2024, to add one person and one group to the list of persons, groups, undertakings, and entities associated with ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaeda, subject to EU restrictive measures, EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Josep Borrell said on Wednesday.

“They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision. The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it,” reads Borrell’s statement on alignment of ten countries concerning restrictive measures against ISIL (Da’esh) and Al-Qaeda.

The Council decided on March 25 to add Mohamed Ibrahim al-Shafi’i Al-Salem, also known as Aba Al-Sahraoui, and Katiba Macina to the EU autonomous list of persons, groups, undertakings and entities associated with ISIL(Da’esh) and Al-Qaeda, subject to EU restrictive measures.

Aba Al-Sahraoui is the leader of ISIL-affiliated group ‘Islamic State Sahel Province’, which primarily operates in the tri-border area of Burkina Faso, Niger and Mali. Katiba Macina is an affiliate of Al-Qaeda and its associated group Jama’a Nusrat Ul-Islam Wa Al-Muslimin (JNIM). It is active in the Sahel, in particular in Central Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso.

Previous articleIrresponsibility and greed burned down the Universal Hall, say DS
Next articlePrivate specialists to go on general strike as of Monday


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here